Writing Hiatus Over, Running Continues

I stopped writing about six months ago.   I never stopped running.  Sometimes life just gets in the way.   Nothing too horrible mind you.   No tragic accidents. Just a little job related stress and very little free time.  The job stress has been relieved with a fantastic new job and I have more time now that my son’s baseball season has ended.

Since my last post we have chosen a US Olympic marathon team and I have run a total of 1033 miles since Janiary 1st.  I have also run three races.   It would have been four but I had to bag my spring marathon.   It was a local one and since I had a deep chest cold and the temps went over 80F I know it was the correct decision.   My three race results:

CARA Lakefront 10 miler (in rain and wind)  1:12:38  A shiny new PR
North Shore Half Marathon (in heat and humidity) 1:42:02
Ricky Byrdsong Race Against Hate 10K  (in heat and humidity) 44:57
Chicago Glo Run was an additional 6k “race” I did but I don’t count my time since it was the day before the 10k and I treated like an average training run.

I only mention the weather conditions because a friend from the RW forums noted that every time I run a race there is either rain or heat.   Race directors beware!  If I sign up for your race, the weather will suck.  I’m actually proud of the North Shore race since I finished higher up in the field despite running almost 2 1/2 minutes slower than last year.  

I race again tomorrow.  The CARA race circuit Elmhurst 4 on the 4th.  The speed demons love the CARA circuit so if crack the top 20 in my age group I’ll be shocked.   At the very least I hope to post a good time in the Masters category for LFLB.   By the way, it will be hot again.  Predicted temp at race time 79F with the temps topping 100F by days end.  I warned you Mr. Race Director.

Day Jul 4   Sunshine and clouds mixed. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. Heat index near 110F. High 101F. Winds WSW at 10 to 15 mph.

Partly Cloudy

101°FHigh                             
2 thoughts on “Writing Hiatus Over, Running Continues”

  1. I did the CARA Lakefront 10 and the Glo Run too! I swear, I've had the worst weather karma for races in 2012. My cousin is trying to qualify for the Half Fanatics, and her first 2 races (Rockford, North Shore) were hot and horrible… if you are doing RnR Chicago, we are screwed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

