Elmhurst 4 on the 4th Race Report

I have a bunch friends and family living in the Elmhurst area so I have raced this event every year since I began running in 2008.   A group of us runners and non-runners get together for breakfast afterwards.  It’s an odd race distance but appropriate being held on the 4th of July.  It’s a well run race and it’s a CARA race circuit event with cash prizes.   If you’ve been reading my blog at all, you know this means SPEED.  It also feels like a track meet with all of the running clubs in uniform. 

http://js.mapmyfitness.com/embed/blogview.html?r=594127843190655191&u=e&t=run

My goal every year is to get past the bottom of the train underpass before the leaders pass on the opposite way.  It’s slightly hilly so I couldn’t base a pace off my 5k PR.  I warmed up with some stretching and 1.5 miles.  The race started on time and the only complaint I have is when really slow runners line up at the front. It means the first downhill 1/4 mile is spent shooting the gaps and finding passing space.    Since I’m familiar with the area I know approximately where the 1/2 mile point is and I cross it at 3:22.    Mile 1 time is 7:01.  My new speed mantra is “stay relaxed”.  Run fast, but in control.

As I got to the top of the far side of the underpass, here came the leaders and they were flying.  Mission accomplished.   Mile 2 time was 7:02.   We reach the 180 degree turn around without any congestion and as usual I couldn’t spot anyone I know.  Time slipped during Mile 3 to 7:15.   I must be relaxing too much.  It’s a cruel uphill finish but I’m passing people.   My other new thing is to pick out a “victim” in the home stretch.  Usually a male runner about my age who is ahead of me.  It gives me a little extra boost to finish strong.   I pass my victim in the last 100 yards.  Mile 4 time was my fastest at 6:54.   A friend of mine is only 29 seconds behind me.  Nice job Ed.   Final time was 28:14 (7:04 pace).  My fifth PR this year and beat my previous PR by over a minute.   21st in my age group.  Speed kills and I can’t match these boys.

Back to marathon training.  42 miles on tap for this week and 46 for next week.   

3 thoughts on “Elmhurst 4 on the 4th Race Report”

  1. Congrats on your PR!!! That race was so much fun.

    I think I saw you during the first mile… were you in your Brooks fanatic gear? I was going to say hi, but if it wasn't you I would have been really embarrassed. Ah well, we'll meet eventually 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

