Where do we go from here?

In Pete Pfitzinger’s book Advanced Marathoning there is a quote from Frank Shorter.  You can’t run another marathon until you’ve forgotten your last one.   The Chicago Marathon in already my rear view mirror.  So that is where I currently stand…looking at the future.

I took two weeks off after the race.  No running.  I ate “bad” things that I wouldn’t normally eat during training.   I did a lot of walking.   My muscles recovered from everything I put them through. It was nice to get up on the weekend and just worry about drinking coffee instead of squeezing an 18 mile long run into my schedule.  I got to have an extra beer or glass of wine on a Friday night.  It all added up to recharging my batteries.   Eager to run again and eventually avenge what happened at Chicago.

I started to run two weeks ago without a mandatory schedule.  Run when and how far I want as opposed to what the schedule says.  Running is just for fun for the time being.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s always fun but now there is now self-imposed goals.  Mileage is back up near 40 miles per week.  There a couple of more races on the schedule.  I have a 10K Turkey Trot in a couple of weeks.   My best race of the year was a 10K so I’m hoping the running gods let me continue my success there.   I may also run the last half marathon of the season as it is being run on my long run route.  I know every inch of that pavement.  Along with every hill, tree and pavement imperfection.  20 milers will do that to you.   So I think it would be cool to see how I race my workout space.

Finally, the Brooks ID program is nearing expiration at the end of December.  I got the newsletter tonight and I’m still not clear how their renewal process will operate.  It’s cool to be part of such a great company as a rank amateur.   Working the Rock n Roll expo for them was a lot of fun.  Heck, I’ve even got non-runners interested in their products.  I should know for sure in a couple of weeks.   I really hope I get invited back.   And even if I don’t they have me in their shoes for life.  

And now for a tenuous musical interlude.   Only because the first words of this song match my title.   I told you it was shaky…

1 thought on “Where do we go from here?”

Leave a Reply

