Elmhurst 4 on the 3rd

Sorry again to anyone trying to follow me on this blog.   I need to post more often for my adoring fan.  There is one out there somewhere right?
 
I ran the obligatory July 4th race that every runner seems to do.   Since coming back from my PF, I’ve been anxious to get my fitness back to last year’s level.  It’s harder to do since I did not run a spring marathon and had less overall mileage.   What can I say, I’m impatient.    The Elmhurst 4 on the 3rd is a 4 mile race with 3 fairly decent hills.  This was the third year in a row I’ve run this race.   Typically I go out to fast and wheeze up the finishing hill out of gas.  I was determined to correct it this year.   Since I do not run with a GPS watch, I marked the 1/2m point of the race to gauge my pace.   I came through it OK and the first mile was a 7:24 pace with a downhill start.  So I considered that a success.  Mile 2 was 7:13, Mile 3 was 7:38.  However,  I was most proud of the last mile on an uphill for the last 1/4 mile.  I passed many runners and finished Mile 4 in 7:04.   I finished in 29:22 which is a 14 second PR.   It’s coming together.
 
After the race the family and I packed up for Michigan for a couple of days.   I decided to run my 14 miler on Sunday after staying up past midnight.  It was 11AM before I hit the roads.   A warning to all of you: Check the elevation before running in unfamiliar territory.   My run was in an area around the General Motors proving ground.  I was told later that GM picked this spot for it’s elevation and hills in the 1920’s.   Ooops.   I struggled and walked several portions.   3% grades for a mile is not something I’m used to.  Not to mention the shoulder of the road when getting off for taffic was as soft as a sandbox.  The highlight was 8 miles into my run when I was stopped by a Japanese couple looking for directions to a nearby beach.   15 minutes later I think they finally got the hint I wasn’t from around there and my directions were sketchy at best.  Hell, even my mapmyrun.com map was better than theirs.  I sent them in a general direction that I hope was correct.  I tried.
 
My training for Chicago is following the Pfitz 18/55 plan. So last week I was beginning to worry in all of this heat about my many walk breaks as my schedule called for 45 miles.  I’ll never qualify for Boston if I keep resting during runs.  But as I talk to other runners and search friends blogs, they are all experiencing the same thing.  The humidity broke a little and I put in a solid week.   Including a 17.4 long run (it was scheduled as 17) without a walk break.   I keep telling myself it’s the weather not my fitness.  Please someone convince me it’s not me.  Please.
 
Cutback week this week.  Only 37 miles.   I could use the rest.  
 
2 thoughts on “Elmhurst 4 on the 3rd”

  1. It's the humidity, not you! I promise! I've been experiencing the same thing this week. Congrats on a great 4th of July race- I've always wanted to do the Elmhurst one. Maybe next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

